Pachi's Blog

Beyond the period.

An exercise in Integrity

Last week, I decided I wanted to be licensed to drive throughout the territory as India, a Light Non-Transport Motor Vehicle. (A Car DL, for my less verbose audience). I have been driving through narrow gullies and jammed highways at all times of the days these past few months without incident or accident, so I figured I’m not that bad a driver. So when I drove to that place at the edge of Bangalore, I wasn’t nervous like I should have been.

But i knew my chances. A friendly delicate flower had once bestowed a piece of wisdom upon me: If you go without a driving school tag, its likely you’re going down. I nearly didn’t get the application since I was late and the good lady there had decided to throw a tantrum because she was delayed by us late comers. A cheeky fellow found a way to soothe her down and I got my form. After the harassment of filling the form, I went up to submit it to a person who’d just heard of the good lady’s antics and was conspiring to get her fired! Bureaucracy, I thought. That and Engineering- “Who needs stand up comedy?”

When it was my chance to drive, or park it rather, an excited lad parked his bike right behind me just when i was about to reverse. Happened again, when I moved it a bit to park by him. It was quite a circus to get it parked. A hefty soul came and sat in the car and asked me to drive. It was going smoothly until I had to reverse. Then the girl driving behind me decided she had enough and left the wheel, got out and started crying. What am I to do? So I stood there till the scene was cleared. But the Inspecter had decided that I cant reverse the car. (Yeah!)

Institutionalized testing failed again. So I walked off knowing I could still drive, driving back my good friend home.

— THE END —

But you just KNOW that there’s no THE END, without someone getting totally screwed over. I was stopped by the same cop who had failed me. Lets call him, Mr.Integrity, for jest. There was a mistake in paperwork and I was to pass? Unlikely.  Man needed a lift. (Yeah!). So this man, who has just deemed me incapable of driving, is telling me that he trusts my driving with his life on a highway, just to get a ride. So my testing continued for another half hour, where Mr. Integrity graciously told me things I already knew about driving, and again and again and.. yes, again.

When we questioned him why I failed when I could clearly drive, he said I couldnt reverse. When we explained what happened, he spent the next 5 minutes giving me reasons well short of funny. The answer to why he’d never admit anything was clear at the end: the man made me take down his number and to give him a call after a week. *cough* bribe *cough*

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “An exercise in Integrity

  1. insipidbanana on said:

    Bribes are special candy.

  2. So what happened next, please continue! did u get the car DL?

  3. The rest of the story went on without incident. I went again, refused to acknowledge that we’d met, took the test again and passed with flying colours.

Leave a comment